Happy World Breastfeeding Week.

It’s already almost the end of World Breastfeeding week, and there’s no way I could go without a blog this week. Breastfeeding is so very dear to my heart, and so blogging about this week is a must! Let me first start off with saying, whatever your choice is: breastfeeding, pumping, or formula feeding, you are a great mom! Your choice in these do not change what a great mom you are. There shouldn’t be a comparison between the three. One way works best for you, and that’s okay. The point of World Breastfeeding week is simply to spread awareness of breastfeeding and how natural it is as well as what resources are available to you to help you learn about breastfeeding.

I will say its pretty awesome that as I’m writing this blog I’m nursing my 10 month old.  I just had to let everyone know because I think it’s great!

Anyways, back to where I was…many people have questions about breastfeeding. Below are a few examples of some questions I often receive.

Why don’t you feed your baby in the bathroom? 

This question is probably often given to most breastfeeding moms, and you will probably get the same response from any of us. My response would be: Do you eat in the bathroom? The amount of germs in a bathroom alone just makes me cringe. In fact, I barely use a public restroom to pee let alone go sit in there with my child to feed.

Why don’t you use a cover up in public?

This is a huge controversial question. I think when you don’t breastfeed, you don’t actually know how hard it is to get the baby to want to eat under a blanket. I get how the baby feels, I mean I wouldn’t want to eat under a blanket. Talk about limited air supply and getting extremely sweating and uncomfortable in the summer time! But that’s just it, think about it. You’re asking me to limit my baby’s air supply by putting a blanket over their head to please you?! That’s just crazy talk! Plus, most of the time, it is pretty easy to wear a tank and then a shirt over the tank, that way when you go to nurse, you barely see any boob action.

Why do women just whip the boob out in public?

I don’t whip out the boob. I’m not comfortable enough. I will nurse in a carrier and such though. But I think if I were to be asked this question, I would respond that they are just so sick of being stereotyped and degraded when they are doing what is best for their baby. Breastfeeding is a NATURAL thing. Our body produces milk for a reason. Breastfeeding is that reason, and it can get frustrating when so many people have given you dirty stares or said things to make you uncomfortable when on the other end of society, people are showing off boobs on billboards for sex appeal. It’s half butt backwards!

When you feed in public, don’t children see? How would a parent explain that?

I have been asked this question before, and it made me sad. I’m not going to lie. The person that asked me this doesn’t have kids to give them credit. But here’s my response. Breastfeeding is natural. Has your child seen a newborn calf nurse? Or kittens or puppies that your family pet had? Your car drives by the billboard everyday of someone’s boobs, or the dolls your daughter plays with have the biggest boobs ever (seriously, can’t barbie have smaller boobs?) and your asking how would you explain breastfeeding? This is how I explained breastfeeding to my children: God gave women breasts to feed our children. They are like bottles. Sometimes babies don’t use a bottle, but drink from their mommies.

I think that all these questions are good questions for people who don’t know much about breastfeeding, but they can also be questions that are hurtful in some way to breastfeeding moms. I hope by sharing my answers, it helps give you an idea what is going inside of our head. We advocate for breastfeeding because we are passionate about making sure we are comfortable and treated with respect for doing what we feel is best for our children. Change doesn’t occur without passion, or advocacy. 

Do you have a question? Or an experience to share? Also, please feel free to click the lower link in the right hand corner to follow my blog on wordpress, and above that, you can hit like, to follow us on FB! Thank you for your support! Happy weekend!

Your mommy blogger,

Brittany 

Leave a Reply

